The Records Bureau is open between 8:00am – 4:30pm, Monday – Thursday.
We are here to help. Our goal is to provide you with your documents as soon as possible. However, some reports, cases, and investigations may take some time to process and can be quite involved. Reports cannot be obtained until all phases of the case have been completed and are ready for dissemination through the Rumson Police Department Records Bureau.
For some requests, you may be required to complete an OPRA (Open Public Records Request) form. These forms are available at the Records Window or may be downloaded below. Please read the second page of the OPRA Request Form carefully, this page contains important information concerning your rights under the New Jersey Open Public Records Act (N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1) If the record(s) you requested is not currently available or is in storage, the Records Custodian will advise you within seven (7) business days when the record can be made available, or may grant or deny your request at that time.
Please make sure to call ahead to ensure your report is complete! We will be happy to look up and advise you on the status of your report. Please provide the case or event number, time and location or the incident and parties involved. Completion time for accident reports is approximately 5-7 business days. Reports cannot be processed via facsimile.
If you are denied a request you have the right to appeal. Your options are explained on the second page of the OPRA Request Form. Refer to http://www.state.nj.us/grc/ for more information.
The Records Bureau processes SP-68 Applications for Temporary Handicapped Placard. These can be picked up at Police Headquarters or printed from the link listed below. Applications must be signed by a medical doctor, podiatrist, or chiropractor and returned to us with a check in the amount of $4.00 made payable to: “N J Motor Vehicle Commission”. These are temporary permits and will be issued only when necessary and when the applicant’s physical condition is not considered permanent. These permits expire 6 months from issue date and may be extended if necessary. Permanent Placards can be obtained through the NJDMV.
Confidential Resident Information Forms
Your completion of a Confidential Resident Information Form allows Rumson Police to enter information into the police database. The form provides key information pertinent to your address in case of an emergency. We will have important contacts and an understanding of any special needs that exist right at our fingertips and be able to expedite the specific help that you will need. Forms are available at the Rumson Police Headquarters at Borough Hall Lower Level Rear, 80 East River Road.
The Rumson Police Department has been notified by the New Jersey State Police to NO LONGER fingerprint persons for reasons other than criminal arrests, volunteer emergency services, and applicants for out-of-state employment that have their own fingerprint cards.
If you are looking to be fingerprinted for anything other than gun permit applications or volunteer emergency services, visit the New Jersey State Police website to find the link for the appropriate forms pertaining to fingerprinting for such reasons as good conduct, immigration, Visa, expungement, etc. Once you find the appropriate form, you must than contact the New Jersey State Police contracted vendor, MorphoTrak at (877) 503-5981 or visit their website: https://www.njsp.org/criminal-history-records/index.shtml
All firearms permits for the Borough of Rumson are handled by the Rumson Police Department Records Bureau. For any questions regarding Firearms Applications please contact the Rumson Police Department Records Bureau at 732-842-0500. Firearms applications can be obtained at the Rumson Police Department Records Bureau Monday through Thursday between 8:00 am and 4:30 pm or the documents can be downloaded below. Please ensure forms are completed in their entirety before submitting to the Records Bureau.
In order to be eligible, all applicants must satisfy the eligibility requirements and comply with all statues and provisions that govern firearms as is set forth by the State of New Jersey (N.J.S.A. Title 13, Chapter 54). NOTE: The falsification of information on any of the applications for firearms permits is a violation N.J.S. 2C:39-10C and is a crime in the third degree. Any falsification may result in criminal charges against you.
The following two documents describe the detailed procedures to follow when applying for an initial firearm identification card, and when applying for a duplicate firearm identification card and/or subsequent permits, including changes of address, lost or stolen ID cards, etc.
The forms below are the required State of New Jersey forms to be completed when applying:
Application for Firearms Purchaser Identification Card and/or Handgun Purchase Permit
Consent for Mental Health Records Search
If you have further questions on the above fillable New Jersey State Forms,
please refer to the New Jersey State Police Firearms Information website: