top of page

Rumson Borough Council

Finding Inspiration in Every Turn

The borough form of government was created in 1878 and modified by the Borough Act of 1987. There are approximately 218 municipalities using the borough form of government, which is supervised by The Mayor and six council members, all of whom are elected at large. There are 37 boroughs in Monmouth County.

The Governing Body of the Borough of Rumson is made up by the Mayor and Council who are elected by the residents. The Mayor has a four-year term and the Council members have three-year terms.

Borough Council Regular Meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Charles S. Callman Hall Courtroom of the Rumson Borough Hall, 80 East River Road, Rumson, N.J., unless otherwise noticed according to the requirements of the Open Public Meetings Act. Borough Council Meeting workshops may be held on the first, third, forth and fifth Tuesday of every month, as needed, at 4:00 PM in the Charles S. Callman Hall Courtroom of Rumson Borough Hall, 80 East River Road, Rumson, N.J. 

Each year at the Reorganization Meeting, the Council adopts a resolution setting the order of business for each Council meeting.


Borough Council

John J. Conklin.png

Council President, Term Expires 12/31/24

J. Clayton Kingsbery.png

Council Member, Term Expires 12/31/2025

Dr Mike Lospinuso.png

Council Member, Term Expires 12/31/25

Gary Casazza.png

Council Member,  Term Expires 12/31/26

Sarah Pomphrey.png

Council Member, Term Expires 12/31/24

Linda J. Smith.png

Council Member, Term Expires 12/31/26

Borough Logo White Outline_edited_edited
Mayor & Council

Borough Council Meeting Calendar


Planning Board Representative

  • Casazza

Recreation Liaison

  • Conklin

Shade Tree Commission

  • Pomphrey

Planning Board Mayor's Alt

  • Kingsbery

Historic Preservation Comm

  • Kingsbery

Environmental Commission

  • Pomphrey

Mitchell B. Jacobs

Co-Managing Partner

Cleary Giacobbe Alfieri Jacobs, LLC

(732) 583-7474

Latest Borough News

2024 Council Committees

Administration and Operations

Finance, Admin, Insurance, HR, Cyber

  • Conklin

  • Kingsbery

  • Smith

Affordable Housing Comm

  • Hemphill

  • Conklin

  • Lospinuso


PR, Website, SM

  • Pomphrey

  • Casazza

Construction and Engineering

Construction Office, Zoning, Planning, Engineering

  • Casazza 

  • Hemphill


  • Hemphill

  • Kingsbery

Public Safety

Police, EMS, Fire, OEM

  • Hemphill

  • Conklin

  • Casazza

Public Works, Utilities & General Infrastructure

DPW, Sewer, Public Buildings, Roads, Storm water, Bridges

  • Kingsbery

  • Smith

Rumsn Council Meetings

2024 Council Liaisons

Borough Attorney

bottom of page