top of page

New Jersey Flood Disclosure Law

On June 30, 2023, Governor Murphy signed Bills S3110/A4783 into law, requiring home sellers and landlords to disclose to potential tenants and buyers whether their properties are located in a FEMA-designated 1% annual chance (100-year) or 0.02% annual chance (500-year) floodplain, and whether the properties have experienced flood damages or flood conditions in the past. With this new law (P.L. 2023, c. 94), New Jersey joins 30 other states in requiring this disclosure, which will alert renters and buyers to the flood risk associated with the properties, and allow them to make informed decisions regarding rental or purchase of the properties. The disclosure also includes information regarding flood insurance, which can provide financial assistance to flood victims, as well as links to technical data available from FEMA and NJDEP.

The disclosure requirements of the new law take effect on March 20, 2024. 


This new disclosure law was sponsored by Senators Bob Smith (D-17) and Richard Codey (D-27), along with Assembly Members John McKeon (D-27), James Kennedy (D-22), and Anette Chapparo (D-33) as key co-sponsors.

NJAFM, a statewide organization of over 500 members and a chapter of the national Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM), is a respected voice in floodplain management practice and policy in the United States.

NJAFM has provided the below resources for more information:

Recent Posts

See All

Rumson Home Improvement Program 2024

If you live in Rumson, own your home, and your total gross annual household income falls below the income limit for your household size, you may qualify to participate in the program.


bottom of page